Feels like Summer

On a long summer day, the sunlight dances around our skin.

I chase the patterns that glow on the back of your hand,

you try to see if I taste like my cherry lip balm.

On a long summer day, when the skies are pretty and the Earth is thirsty,

and the trees are clad in colors of the sunset,

the sky has a cloud the shape of your neck, and I wonder if it will hold my tears as well as you did.

Another cloud appears, the shape of your nose, bent exactly the way yours is from when you broke it.

Sky wears a purple dress, the kind you say looks good on me.

This long, summer day reminds me of another one, from our younger times together.

You are still, in ways, the unrestful 9 year old I met for the first time. I am still the same 5-year-old who fell in love with you, not even knowing what it means.

You asked if I would want to run away, and I held your hand without hesitation.

I was so in love with you then, but not as much as I am now.

The sky takes a turn for the pink and a cloud takes the shape of your silhouette.

You tell me I am the sky, always changing. I tell you that you are the cloud which is always found next to me.

My colors might change, you might take a different shape. I might donne the veins of thunder and you might let your sorrows rain,

but I am so in love with you,

as the sky loves its clouds, as summer loves its sunlight,

Only just a little more than always,

I am so in love with you.

Leave a Comment