Don’t mess with the Master.

Fine, I partially stole the tittle from Don’t mess with the Zohan…but I’m pretty sure it fits in the situation.

My dad is one of the mostย the most cunning person I know. I get my wit and ability to mortify someone with my words from him, not that I’m especially proud of it. Yeah, I am ๐Ÿ˜›

So, yesterday, when my boards result came out, I called him and told him that I scored 54% (Obviously not true). He was in a different city back then, so he just hung up on me. H doesn’t know my roll number so he could check it himself. I was smiling with the thought that I’d majorly played a prank on him, and when he’ll be back I’ll tell him my real marks and it’ll be epic.

An hour later, I get a call form my cousin asking me how the hell did I score so less and I was all like, “How do you know it?”

She told me that my dad has posted it on Facebook with the caption: You lost only a year, not your life. 54% isn’t that bad, NIdhi.

After I got 8 such calls from everyone, including my brother in Houston who screamed his lungs out at me for being so careless and hung up on me, knowing I don’t have ISD calls on my land-line, I called my dad, told him my real marks and begged him to take that post down. He told me that all along he knew I was faking it because there was no way in God’s green Earth that I’d score that less, with all the study I did (or he THINKS I did)

When he came home later that night, he brought dark chocolates and Coke with him because he knows those two are the only things I grew up to be 5’9″ on…he told me that “Beta, tum abhi zamin se bhi nahi nikle ho, tumhare jaise main roz chalata hu” (You’re just a sapling, kid.)

So what I learnt yesterday is that you don’t mess with the master, unless you want the whole world to think you’re dumb enough to score just 54% marks in one of the most important exams of your life.

Image

ย 

My dad set my laptop’s wallpaper to this, and when I turned it on in the morning, I almost screamed ๐Ÿ˜› So, my dad and I have a weird sense of humor, we recreate episodes of Sherlock together when my dad comes into my room in the middle of the night and shouts at me “This is a drug bust!” and when I ask him what is he doing, he snaps at me saying “Shut up, Anderson. You lower the IQ of the whole street” and ย leaves.

So we’re weird people, obviously…

In Hindi, we have a saying, Har sher ko sawa sher milta hai….meaning that no matter how awesome you think you are at something, there will always be someone who is better at that than you.

P.S.- I scored 88.2% in my board examinations…so I’m awesome ๐Ÿ˜€

6 thoughts on “Don’t mess with the Master.

  1. Hahaha… LOL@ facebook post ๐Ÿ˜›
    By the way congratulations on results ๐Ÿ™‚ I managed way less than you back in my days ๐Ÿ˜ฆ So what are you treating us all with ?

      1. Come on! Don’t underestimate yourself. But as I said, “Mazilein aur bhi hain”… ๐Ÿ™‚

        Now that you asked, I would want to like you to be a fearless girl. It does not come easy and it does not mean naiive. So… there! You have it ๐Ÿ™‚ I know a few women who are so, and it fascinates me. They are much stronger than what I am ( jealous ). Kaise banna hai… yeh toh tumhein sochna hoga ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

