Nothing is more lame…

Nothing is more lame than writing a speech for your best friend’s wedding when your best friend is a teenager. No, no…Bhavini isn’t getting married. She doesn’t even have a boyfriend. She’s just one of those gooey romance struck teenage girls who like to plan every detail of their wedding since they’re old enough to dream about a wedding.

In this case, Bhavini wants an over the top wedding at Jal Bhawan, (which to be honest costs millions, and I don’t know how it’s ever going to come true, but what’s the harm in dreaming?) Her wedding is supposed to be a mix of Indo-Western culture. According to her, every ritual is to be done as it is, but she also wants a bachelorette party and a maid of honor speech at the reception.

Whenever she talks about her wedding, I sort of tune out. I don’t like romance and I don’t think about the time IF I get married. I like to live in the present and not worry about the future.

However, she decided that the both of us is going to write each other our maid of honor speeches. Now, I know she’s excited and everything for a thing that’s at least a decade away, but I don’t get why we’re writing it now, when the both of us are single. I mean, what kind of a demand is that?

Regardless of the stupidity of that demand, she means everything to me, so I wrote her a speech. I’m still waiting for her speech, so when she does give it to me, I’m thinking of posting it here. Word to word, no edition, I promise.

6 thoughts on “Nothing is more lame…

  1. What is it with girls and wedding? You people are so young and even at that age you think about that? Why not about travelling the world/ becoming a nuclear scientist or a sportswoman or a writer? Does not take me by surprise though, given the women I have come across.

  2. But I do know that you are way too young to think on those lines. You are one smart girl and I could not resist saying something “serious”. I must apologise for being so critical…

    1. Trust me,I feel the same. I’m 18 and obviously, things which go on in my mind aren’t about weddings, especially mine. But when you’re stuck with a best friend who thinks about nothing else, and you love that person to death, you have to make some room for their ideas.

      1. Well, I know a bit of that part. My mum talks of my weddings while I think of doing weird things. But this also means that you are a good and caring friend. Keep it up ๐Ÿ™‚

        There is always room for everyone’s ideas. You are right about that.

        I was not half as smart as you are a decade back ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      2. You know what I do whenever people talk about weddings? I tune out and think about some really stupid and weird stuff. As a result, I smile and those people think I’m actually listening to them. This way, both the parties get what they want and no one gets hurt.
        To quote the famous Khichdi dialogue..”Kisi ko pata nahi chalega!” ๐Ÿ˜‰

      3. Haha… That is quite an ingenious technique to dodge such encounters ๐Ÿ˜€ I am going to put this to test ๐Ÿ™‚ Maybe when I go on to meet one of those prospective brides ๐Ÿ˜›

        I do remember this dialogue ๐Ÿ˜›

Leave a Reply

